Just Another Minute

My little world – just enjoying the ride

A man named John

Leave a comment

I have been thinking a lot lately about what my role in life is… I am cruising along without a care in the world, thinking things are going along soooooo smooth. Then an event stumbles into my path – and bam – life seems to veer off to one side for a little while.

When life veers to one side, I tend to stop and think through various random thoughts… I stop and think about how I am going to be remembered …am I living the life I am meant to live… I am touching the lives of people I am meant to touch…for that matter what I am meant to do…what does God have in mind for me…what am I suppose to be doing … should I be reaching out not only to those locally but those globally… do I really need that cool little gadget…why do I constantly think about the guy on the street corner that needs the dollar I just spent on coffee… is that compassion… then why do I look away?

Most recently the event that crashed into my life was the death of a friend named John. John was a man that touched the lives of so many, yet did it quietly. John was a man who truly walked the walk. There are so many people who will miss his quiet calm, his fatherly love, and his Christ like walk. As his pastor said, “Well done, good and faithful servant.” 

Hearing about all the ways that quiet John touched the world made me veer to one side and start to think about God’s role for me. When my life is done, will God say “Well done, good and faithful servant.” or will it end with me “thinking” about the guy on the street corner and looking away? I pray for the strength to do what needs to be done, and to hear Him say, “Well done, good and faithful servant.”
Author: just-another-minute

Just a guy getting through life, wondering what is going on in the world, but willing to share a few glimps of myself to you.

Leave a Reply

