Just Another Minute

My little world – just enjoying the ride

Romans 2

5 Comments

 

This is my installment for the Blogger Small Group post on Romans chapter 2. There is always time for anyone to join in if they like (seeBlogger Small Group Rules/Guidlelines). Right now we are a few weeks into the group, which started in James.

No need to try and catch up, just start in the same place we are and post your opinions.

 

God’s Righteous Judgment

1 – 3 we are all sinners – and all sin is equal in God’s eyes.  So if all sin is equal – how can I possibly judge someone else?  It is best left to God.  The perfect example of this a lot of time is in the church itself – how many times have I heard someone talking about another – then now many times did I NOT stop this discussion?  Sin on both parts – I think so…just looking at this on a micro scale how can I judge them, and on a macro scale I think of 100s of reasons that I shouldn’t judge them – starting with this verse.

4 – How easy is it to take God’s grace for granted.  I seem to slide through life – believe what I believe – and there are times in my life where I forget to ask for forgiveness thinking it has already been given.  Basically for me this is telling me to live a righteous life – if we don’t well we know what the consequences are.

5 – For me this is pride… pride… pride.  I hate to admit I am wrong.  Let me say that again, I hate to admit I am wrong.  Repenting is saying I am wrong… what will others think about me… will they view me as weak?  Pride…pride… pride.

6 – 8 okay so here it is… spelled out for us.  If I choose the right path – eternal life.  If I choose the wrong path – well lets’ just say it is not going to be fun.  I cannot even imagine what God wrath and anger will look like.  If that is not incentive enough, what is?

9 – 11 Two things working here.  First a pattern of hope for the Gentiles – they are included, not just the Jews in God’s plan.  There are no favorites.  Second – do good. 

I think about my daughter, Monica who came to me while we were going into a store.  “Dad, do you see that old lady?”

“Yeah.”

“I think see needs some help.”

“Why don’t you go help her?”

“I can’t, I need you…”

Wow… this is one of those little life moments.  Easy to miss.  My daughter cared enough, was observant enough, but didn’t feel empowered enough.  Dad… I need you.  How many times have I said the same thing…? I can’t do this…I am not good enough.  I don’t know enough… I am not worthy… I need You.

12 Not sure here… does this mean that if I don’t know better I will be judged accordingly? Help me out here…

13 Hear and obey.  Keyword – obey.  It is one thing to hear the something, it is another to hear and obey it.  For me this is kinda like churches – we go to church hear the message and then have a choice – do we go home and live our life the same as before, or do we allow what we heard to sink in and change our soul?  If we allow it to sink in and it changes our soul then obedience will happen automatically.  If we only hear the message, nothing is automatic – everything is hard.

14-16 This is another section that is giving hope to the non-Jew – the Gentile Christian.  They didn’t know the law.  But, even though they did not know the law, they were basically living the life of a Christian inside and out.  

The Jews and the Law

17 – 21 For me this tells me that teachers need to be careful.   The need to continue to grow and learn.  They need to continue to grow closer to God.  They need teachers themselves – if not they will not grow.  I think that is why it is so important for new pastors to find mentors.  They need someone to help them.  For me this is like reading a passage in the bible, deciding what it means and moving on.  If I shared this view with others, they may point out something I missed.  Allowing me to look at that passage differently.  Allowing me to grow and learn.  But as we learned in James – we need to choose our mentors wisely.

21-24 This brings me back to the Book of James again and his talk about being two-faced.  If you claim one thing, yet do another you are not only a hypocrite, but you are sinning and blaspheming God’s name.  Be ready for that wrath and anger thing again…

25-29 Challenging the current status of Jews and some of their thought processes.  Rebel time if you will.  If your heart is in the right place, you are better off than if you are doing the deed without your heart.  Oh I get it… If I go to church just to go to church, but my heart is not there, I am not better off than the guy who stays home, but truly lives a Christian life.  Walking the walk, not just talking the talk.

 

Author: just-another-minute

Just a guy getting through life, wondering what is going on in the world, but willing to share a few glimps of myself to you.

5 thoughts on “Romans 2

  1. How true Kyle… God knows all… and you put it so well… He wants us to admit what we have done… he wants us to humble ourselves… this is that whole earthly thing vs. heavenly thing going on. To put it like James put it, until we can do these things, we are dead. This is a tough one… pride gets in my way sometimes. In the end, I will be called on it, so it is better to deal with it now. Better sooner than later if you know what I mean.

  2. It’s so weird, because I go to God time and time again “confessing” my sin to Him. The truth is, the whole word confess shouldn’t be used. To me, confess means to tell someone something they don’t know. God knows everything about us. Which makes the scripture here even more true and understandable to me. God wants us to admit, to acknowledge our sins to Him. He wants us to humble ourselves, put down our pride, and allow Him to reign in our lives.

    Thanks for sharing with us Michael.

  3. Try this out for verse 12.

    Romans 2:12 (The Message)
    The Message (MSG)

    12-13If you sin without knowing what you’re doing, God takes that into account. But if you sin knowing full well what you’re doing, that’s a different story entirely. Merely hearing God’s law is a waste of your time if you don’t do what he commands. Doing, not hearing, is what makes the difference with God.

  4. “I need you..” Thats what a father is for. This is one of the reasons my favorite names for God is Abba “Daddy”

  5. I think you entire post was great, but when I got to [5] I was sort of taken back. That is the second time I have read “admit when I am wrong” today, and it’s not even noon yet. Had nothing to do with the group but came up on a blog anyway.

    I think you really hit it on the head here. It is easy to ignore, deny, and not admit when we are wrong, it is HARD to admit when we are wrong, but it will make us grow. Great point.

Leave a Reply

