Just Another Minute

My little world – just enjoying the ride

Romans 21-31: Blogger Small Group

10 Comments


This is my installment for the Blogger Small Group post on Romans chapter 3. There is always time for anyone to join in if they like (seeBlogger Small Group Rules/Guidlelines). Right now we are a few weeks into the group, which started in James.

No need to try and catch up, just start in the same place we are and post your opinions.

I ended last week with the comment that 9-20 was basically a good reminder that, since God expects sinless behavior, having sinned righteousness cannot be obtained by doing good. Doing good cannot make up for doing bad. Rather justice demands a penalty to be paid.  Thus Jesus.

From those verses, we move to Righteousness Through Faith.

vs 21-24  thus Jesus, moves us to this section.  We all fall short.  Even if we live a good life, mind our manners, help others… it doesn’t matter without Jesus.  That is what v20 was pointing out, and expanded upon here in v21-24. I read somewhere this statement that I love – we are in a “transitions from speaking of the righteousness which is by the law (a righteousness which is earned by one’s performance) to a righteousness which is from God (a righteousness which is not based on one’s performance, but freely given to those who put their trust in Jesus).”

Now the hard part… this is so hard for me right now.  The reason I mention this is my wife is not a Christian.  I am throwing this out there.  I am sharing something that I have not shared out here before.  She believes in God.  She believes in the power of prayer.  She believes in heaven.  She believes in doing good.  She is one of the most amazing women you will ever met.  She is a wonderful person, helps others, loves others, is truly someone you would want to know.  So I struggle with this section as I realize that she will fall short in God’s eyes.  Because of that, and knowing her, I must be the silent warrior in her life, trying to live by example and offer up a comment or two – never pushing but explaining, living and loving.  I am the active warrior in my daughters’ lives.  They love “it”.  They get “it”.  They want more of “it”.

This divided part of my life, makes the rest really hard.  This part of the scripture is hard… we all fall short thus Jesus – I get that for me.  We all fall short thus Jesus – I get that for my girls, most of my family and friends.  We all fall short thus Jesus – but what about her – now what?  When will the divided road end?

vs 25,26 This again is speaking directly at the Jews.  Here we are talking about the fact that sin, prior to Jesus died, was forgiven by the mercy of God.  But, the penalty for sin had not been paid.  NOW all of that has been taken care of by Jesus and the cross.

vs 31 What a way to end a chapter… “31 Do we, then, nullify the law by this faith? Not at all! Rather, we uphold the law.”  Faith upholds the law, whether that is mosaic law, or the Gentiles who try to earn their way to heaven because they don’t know the mosaic law.

No matter what, every Jew will admit that they have not lived up to the full extent of the law, and every Gentile will admit that they have done something he knows is wrong.  They failed to live up to the law.  The atonement that came was through Jesus’ death.  God has a way to forgive us without appearing unjust.  All of us falls short, if we believe in Him through Jesus Christ, we will be taken care of.

If we will just believe, we will be taken care of.  Let me rephrase that – If we truly believe, we will be taken care of.  Images that will not go away – Jesus and the cross.

His gift to us… can a person cry out of joy and cry for others at the same time?

Thank you for listening…

Author: just-another-minute

Just a guy getting through life, wondering what is going on in the world, but willing to share a few glimps of myself to you.

10 thoughts on “Romans 21-31: Blogger Small Group

  1. It’s such a blessing that your wife is surrounded by believers; I pray that she will hear the truth and submit her life to Christ.

  2. Hey, Michael

    I’m so sorry about what you’re going through. At least she apparently isn’t against your faith. It’s hard for “good” people to realize that all their righteousness is filthy rags next to God’s righteousness. Nevertheless, she is a good and loving person (as unredeemed persons go) and can’t help but be attracted to someone like Jesus–if she sees Him, as she does in your life. Don’t lose heart. God takes His time and does the job right.

    Grace and Peace,

    Cindy

  3. Thanks Heath… alot of thoughts going on right now in my head…

  4. Michael,
    You know I used to be on the other side of the fence. It was my wife who kept trying to get me to go to church and accept Jesus Christ. I was so hard headed, stony heart, whatever you want to call it. But it was God that had to break me and my wife was there to show me the path. Hang in there and never give up.

    You are there to be a positive influence on the marriage and show her the way to Christ. Which I think you do brother.

    1 Corinthians 7
    12To the rest I say this (I, not the Lord): If any brother has a wife who is not a believer and she is willing to live with him, he must not divorce her. 13And if a woman has a husband who is not a believer and he is willing to live with her, she must not divorce him. 14For the unbelieving husband has been sanctified through his wife, and the unbelieving wife has been sanctified through her believing husband. Otherwise your children would be unclean, but as it is, they are holy.

  5. Thanks Jen… discouragement and doubt are easy to fall to… take care.

  6. Michael, keep praying. My prayer for you then will be that you will never fall to discouragement or doubt in your role as the silent warrior…

    Blessings to you and your family.

  7. Thanks Scott…you know, I read not long ago about a one person who prayed for their spouse for years and years. Never ending… never faltering… well this is part of my daily life….ever night… never ending…. never faltering. The quiet warrior that I need to be right now.

  8. Wow, I almost don’t know what to say… it emphasizes that we are responsible to God and no one can’t take that from us, or do it for us. My heart is with you, and prayer is the answer of course.

    My son who is also a “good” person, has gone so far as to go through all the motions, being baptized when he was 18 and involved in our church to rejecting the truth of the message because of a multitude of reasons he has. It is hard when it is someone we love, but I always felt I should have the same concern for anyone I meet that is in the same situation.

    To much to think about, but a great post for today, thanks for sharing with everyone.

  9. Thanks brian… and yes my heart is crying…

  10. That’s tough. I hear your heart. It is difficult to know that the “good” people can never do enough good to make there. I had a friend once that was bound and determined not to “give his life to Christ,” but he was one of the most “moral” people I knew, and moreso, one of the most “loving of others” people I knew.

    The typical argument to this is, “well that’s not fair, if I’ve done more good than bad, then I should make it.” A few things come to mind. One, God is not proclaiming to be fair. He is proclaiming to be just. Fair would be to damn all of us. It’s a matter of recognizing that we sin against infinite holiness, and no amount of good works can cover that. Also, how do we know if we’ve done enough good to outweigh the bad. We don’t, there is no scale.

    Ramblings, sorry, I know you didn’t necessarily go here with your post, but it is good for me to run over in my head why this passage is so big for us, thanks for letting me be an outlet on your site.

Leave a Reply

