Just Another Minute

My little world – just enjoying the ride

Dedication

Leave a comment

Those of you who have been reading this blog, you know that I am riding in a charity bike ride for cancer on August 17th.  I am doing this for a number of reasons, but mainly in honor of my dad, a recent cancer survivor, and my aunt who passed away from breast cancer a few years ago.  I have talked off and on about the impact cancer has had on my family and the collateral damage that happens as well – emotional and physical pain are never fun.

As I type this, I also think about the training and dedication it takes to ride in a long charity ride.  But the funny thing is my training has only been sporadic. Last week I was suppose to ride a lot – where did I end up – working late, grumpy that I wasn’t ride, and then flopping on the coach.  (oh and there was that hot weather thing going on.) This week – more of the same, except this week has been more about the family than work – “dadddddy – the computer doesn’t work right…Honey – the printer doesn’t print…. Pops (my older daughter talking) can you take me to the ____________…Honey – the lawn needs mowing, oh and the van needs work – it is making that noise again, can you do this, can you do that, can you… can you… can you…”

Then it hit me… this has been my life for a while now.  I have been running so hard, for so long, for other people that I tend to forget about the important things.  On top of that, I have been adding up all of my excuses of why I am not doing those important things and it really does surprise me. I said that?  I thought that?  Ugh… I mean….

What happen to my morning prayers?  I guess I am sleeping a little later these days, getting up just in time for the 3S routine, and then running out the door. But I NEED that extra sleep… I stayed up late to watch the game and work on the computer… and – oh yeah…

What happen to my men’s group bible study?  I guess I am getting to work earlier than normal to get work done (bible study 6:00am – me at work 7:00am) – no bible study class – no need to prepare and read – right????  Wait, that happened for about a week – I do get in at 7:30 – but that is my choice… and the bible sitting unopened in the car, on my night stand, the 7:00am work schedule – well, these are not good excuses no matter how hard I try to connect the dots.  Ugh…

Training for a long bike ride takes commitment. Training for life takes commitment.

Dang… and I thought I had this excuse thing down….

Thought for the day – am I interested or committed?  

Lately I have allowed life to take over – interested…

Lately I have allowed excuses to take over – interested…

Things need to change – committed… 

What about you?

Author: just-another-minute

Just a guy getting through life, wondering what is going on in the world, but willing to share a few glimps of myself to you.

Leave a Reply

