Just Another Minute

My little world – just enjoying the ride

from one prayer to waking up

Leave a comment

So, this is my random post/thought for the day… week… month. Anyway, it struck me, after looking back over my post for the past several months, that there is a bit of a trend to my journal postings. Other than the obvious discussion about family, one distinct part of my post has been about “faith” and “reaching out.”

I never really intended for this blog to be solely about my faith walk, but that seems to be the theme these days, so I am going with it.  It just feels like I am in a unique time in my life where for the first time I am actually trying to listen.  I am trying to read for understanding rather than reading to read.  I am trying to reach out – not just through my united way payroll deductions and small donations, but in individual ways.  I am trying to be more open about my faith, where before I was quieter about it.  Have I succeed all of the time? Nope – not even close.  Have I tried every day? Again – nope, not even close.  It is a struggle, but an exciting one none-the-less.

So with that said, I have two thoughts today.  One a prayer I am saying today, and the other is about waking up.

Part I – the prayer:

I pray that God works on those hearts that surround me in His time and in His way.  I pray that my faith never falters.  I pray for the strength to continue to pray consistently…to pray daily…to pray passionately.  I pray for the strength to be an example for my family. I pray that God provides me with the strength and words I need when an opportunity arises to help another.  I pray that I listen to God when He prompts me.

Part II – waking up:

I have been thinking through this thought off and on for a while now.  Basically it is as followings:  I read once that there are times when God allows us to see what He sees – if we are only willing.  To say what He has places in our heart – if we are only willing.  To follow the path that He has set for us – if we are only willing. 

As I see it, we are all droplets in other people’s lives.  We all touch people throughout the day in small ways, and in some cases large ways.  There are times when God uses these small touches to impact our lives.  There are so many people I can point to that God has used to allow me to actually see what is going on around me with a more compassionate eye.  There are people in my life that have impacted me with their words – both written and verbal.  With the help of these people, I hope I am waking up and seeing what I am suppose to see…saying what I am suppose to say… and following the path I am suppose to follow.

Thanks for reading this rambling series of words, and as always comments are always welcome.

Author: just-another-minute

Just a guy getting through life, wondering what is going on in the world, but willing to share a few glimps of myself to you.

Leave a Reply

