Just Another Minute

My little world – just enjoying the ride

2008 – what a year.

1 Comment

Well, it is that time of year – that time when I look over 2008 and ponder the good, bad and at sometimes ugly.  With that in mind, following, in no particular order is my 2008:

 

So much has happened in 2008 – but first and foremost what stands out is the fact that my dad is a current cancer survivor after going through a regiment of cancer treatments that I know would have brought me to my knees.

 

2008 was a year that I started this blog as an emotional outlet.  It was a year that I started going to a bible study consistently.  It was a year that I took some steps forward in my faith.  It was a year that I took some steps back in my faith.  It was a year that I strived to listen when God was talking to me or through me.  It was a year that I lost a friend to cancer.  It was a year that I saw family and friends suffer – emotionally, physically, and spiritually.  It was a year that I saw friends rejoice with the adoption of their two kids.  It was a year that I did not hesitate talking about my faith – well for the most part anyway.  It was a year that I hesitated to talk about my faith with someone very dear to me – for fear of driving a wedge into a place where it would not come out.  It is a year that I have prayed more.  A year I have tried to enjoy life more.  A year that I tried to embrace my family and friends more.  It is a year that I finally got to go on an uninterrupted vacation.  It was a year that I saw my retirement plan plunge. 

 

2008 was an emotional roller coaster that forced me to grow up in a much different way that I thought I would.  It was a year that I saw my deficits more clearly.  It was a year that I questioned myself more…challenged myself more…turned to God more.  Run away more … and then return to His feet. 

 

2008 is almost over.  It feels like it just began.  2008 is one where God had to hold me up, and sometimes carry me, as the year moved along.  For that, thank you God.

Author: just-another-minute

Just a guy getting through life, wondering what is going on in the world, but willing to share a few glimps of myself to you.

One thought on “2008 – what a year.

  1. great post, I like and dis-like what we all go through at the end of each year, a recap of what happened. 2008 was a tough year but one of growth… I know what you dad went through as we lost a family member to cancer this year, and it was about the hardest thing to watch… 2009 should be a great year, looking forward to it all

Leave a Reply

