Just Another Minute

My little world – just enjoying the ride

Dear God

2 Comments

In case you don’t know this, there was a movie from 1996 titled, “Dear God.”  It was on HBO tonight, and it kinda struck me in a way that woke a couple of pieces in me up. 

First the movie: The main character, Tom Turner is a con man who gets arrested, and basically has to decide if he is going to jail or he is going to get a real job.  He chooses a real job, and starts working for the post office in the dead letter office – you know the dear Santa letters, the undeliverable letters.  And in this case the Dear God letters.  Well, some of the starts to get opened after curiosity gets the better of him.  Then he accidentally answers one by sending his first paycheck that he cashed to someone who needed the money, and this starts the ball rolling as more of his co-workers and the community start to help people by answering “God’s” mail.

That is where the movie got me.  I mean, isn’t that what Jesus wanted us to do – love others and help others?  Isn’t that what the Big C church is all about – loving and helping?  Isn’t that what Tom was doing – albeit by accident at first?  Wouldn’t it be so cool if the whole church would act on those urges inside them and actually stop and help?  Wouldn’t it be cool if I did that more?  Wouldn’t it be cool if I listen to Him better?  Wouldn’t it be cool if I didn’t allow my personal desire for x…y… and z… to overtake my life?

I have asked this question before, but aren’t there those times when you feel God working in and around you?  But in my case it feels like there are more times when He is actually trying to wake me up.  There are those times when He yells at me … something like – MICHAEL…can you give me a hand here?

Now, my analytical mind cannot fully comprehend what God is doing.  Nor do I think I will ever fully understand.  It isn’t my place.  I will say that God has shown up in my life at times when I wish he would – especially last year when my dad got cancer.  There are also times during my life time when He has shown up in my life when, quite honestly, when I wish He wouldn’t have (at least at the time.) In hindsight, I am glad he did, but at the time I was like – oh come on… why now?  Lately I have tried to listen.  Lately I listened as closely as possible. 

So with that, I will say that He has once again shown up and said –

“MICHAEL… can you give me a hand?”

to which I have replied… “Oh come on… now?”

pause…pause…pause… yes God is patient…

Okay…

Author: just-another-minute

Just a guy getting through life, wondering what is going on in the world, but willing to share a few glimps of myself to you.

2 thoughts on “Dear God

  1. i have and still do have those conversations with God..that was a good movie, and it shook me a little too!

  2. Great thought provoking post!

Leave a Reply

