Just Another Minute

My little world – just enjoying the ride

Colorado – what a trip

Leave a comment

If you have never been to Colorado or climbed a 14er, I thought I would share a small piece of it with you.  This is the second time I have done this- the first being 2007.  The first was Mt. Shavano (14,229 ft), and this time it was Grays (14,270 ft).  Each time I go I hesitate beforehand but so glad I afterward.  This time was no different – what a day, what a sight.  The weather was perfect.  There wasn’t a cloud in the sky.

This trip was a lot of fun.  I flew up Saturday, climbed Sunday and came home Monday.  I didn’t have a problem with altitude.  I didn’t have a problem with the weather.  In hind sight, I  just saw God’s handy work.

Even in my current physical condition  (okay but far from great) I felt good after finishing the climb in 7.5 hours. I love to push myself but not to hard. Slow and steady was the theme of the day.

Also, for me this was an interesting climb.  The last time I went up a mountain was right around the time dad finished his cancer treatment and survived.  I think about that time often.

It was also a time to tune out the noise of my life for a little while (although I had cell service on the top).  It was just me climbing, taking one step at a time, resting when needed, and talking to those passing by from time to time.  It was also a time for me to talk with God, and to reset some things in my mind.

I have a long way to go in my walk with Christ.  I am a broken man.  I am someone who needs Him by my side.  I am someone who needs to read the bible more.  I am someone who needs to talk about His life more through my daily actions.

God – this morning I take a moment to ask that you please continue to work on my heart, and that you please help me, guide me, and use me. Amen.

Author: just-another-minute

Just a guy getting through life, wondering what is going on in the world, but willing to share a few glimps of myself to you.

Leave a Reply

