Just Another Minute

My little world – just enjoying the ride

My actions can say more than a thousand words.

Leave a comment

I stumbled across the following quote recently.  I have heard this particular quote from time to time and it makes me think about how I live my life.  The quote, attributed to Ralph Waldo Emerson, is the one that challenges me from time to time, especially during times like I have had recently. 

“What you do speaks so loudly I cannot hear what you say.” Or in other words, my actions are much louder than my words. 

Insert Ugh here.

I think about this as it relates to my family, to my friends, to my work life, to my spiritual life.  With regard to my friends and family I can say, “I love you,” all day long but if I ignore them, or deliberately hurt them, my mouth is going to be moving, but they will not “hear” one single thing I “say”.  My actions will overpower my words. 

The same holds true for my work life – I can say I love my job, but if I don’t do it, then I don’t love it.  

In terms of my spiritual life – one could write a book on how this applies.  My inactions speak louder than my words.  I read once that deeds are a result of my love for God.  If I have no deeds then what does that say about my love for God?  If I have some deeds – again what does that say?

Insert Ugh here.

Right behind this quote is another that I repeat from time to time – “perception is reality.” It doesn’t matter what I intend, it is how it is perceived that matters to the other person.  If my actions, regardless of my intentions, are affecting them in a negative way, I need to understand that their perception is their reality and make adjustments to how I communicate my intent. 

Insert Ugh here.

As a result, I have been pondering my actions. Should I do X or Y? Should I hold my tongue in that situation even when I feel I should say something? I want so badly to help a person through a particular situation.  I am a doer.  I am a person who wants an action step for the next move – thus I tried to offer options to people.  Knowing that, lately when I have been an ear to someone, I have forced myself to do ONLY that – to be an ear, not a voice. 

Why – well I feel God prompting me to be quiet, to listen, and to encourage in small ways.  I have come to realize that sometimes silence is better than chatter.  Chatter can cover so much up.  The result of silence in many cases has allowed more pain to flow out of the hurting person.  They have “talked” through things more openly.  Recently, after one such conversation, the person I was talking with said, “Thanks for listening. Not everyone listens.  Most just want to help when all I really needed was someone to listen.”

My action – listening.  More words – silence.  Sometimes that is the right mix.  Not always, but sometimes.

Insert silence here.

Author: just-another-minute

Just a guy getting through life, wondering what is going on in the world, but willing to share a few glimps of myself to you.

Leave a Reply

