Just Another Minute

My little world – just enjoying the ride

Positive Thinking

Leave a comment

Okay here is a new one for me.  I was criticized for being too positive.  Now I heard of someone saying you are to negative.  You bring everyone down, but being too positive?  It was even work related; it was said by someone close to me.

Is that right???  I was kind of taken aback.  I wasn’t sure what to say. 

Should I say, “Thanks?”  (No, that would be condescending…)

Should I say, “That is the first time I ever heard anyone complain that another person is too positive.” (again condescending???)

Should I say, “Are you serious?” (probably should say this and then add why would you say that.)

Instead I just sat there for a minute.  And then I started to do what I do best sometimes – I tried to please the other person.  I said that I do get upset, but I don’t let it rule my life.  I even get down from time to time.  Then I started to go deeper… I started to list all of the times that I was not positive recently.  I started to look for ways to fit in with this person.  In hind sight, it was a totally weird conversation. 

Then I realized if I try to show how “normal” I am by being negative, then I am heading the wrong direction.  I need to stick with the positive.  I do try to live my life in a way that is positive.  If something happens, I don’t dwell on it for long.  If I am overly positive – so be it.  I would rather be that than the opposite.

Weird day.

Author: just-another-minute

Just a guy getting through life, wondering what is going on in the world, but willing to share a few glimps of myself to you.

Leave a Reply

