Just Another Minute

My little world – just enjoying the ride

The Legacy of Life

Leave a comment

Okay, so I heard an interesting sermon this past Sunday.  The title of the series is “The Legacy of Life.”  Basically looking at the legacy we are going to leave this world.

For me that question came with self probing thoughts – will my legacy be:

my family,

my material things (in all honesty I hope not),

the way I live my life – either good or bad,

the way I display my faith,

the way I share my faith,

the way I hide my faith,

the way I walk away, or the way I stand tall

the way I help another, or the way I duck my head and hide

You get the picture…

With this train of thought came a series of other questions.  Self probing questions.  Sometimes I hate those days.  Sometimes I hate those weeks where the Sunday service resonates for days on end.  But then again, if it resonates, isn’t that a good thing?  Doesn’t that mean that God is talking to me in his own way?  Isn’t He basically saying (once again), “Pay attention Michael!”

So with that, the one question that Pastor Dan suggested that we ask those around us, those that we trust, is this:  Who is Michael?  Or said another way, Michael is _______________.   And then look for the first word that comes to mind.

This is a fearful question for me to ask.  Will my faith speak to those around me even after I am gone like Abel?  “By faith Abel brought God a better offering than Cain did. By faith he was commended as righteous, when God spoke well of his offerings. And by faith Abel still speaks, even though he is dead.”  Hebrews 11:3

Or will it be my flaws that speak the loudest?  If it is my flaws, then I need to know.  I need to know so that I will listen more closely to God.  I need to know so that I will allow God to marinate into my soul and flow out of me?  I need to know so that I will take this moment to realize God will need to change me rather than me change me.  Because we all know that “With man this is impossible, but not with God; all things are possible with God.  Mark 10:27”

So my question to you today is twofold:

First off, how do you answer the question, “Who is Michael?”

And Second, and probably more challenging, “How will you be remembered?”

Author: just-another-minute

Just a guy getting through life, wondering what is going on in the world, but willing to share a few glimps of myself to you.

Leave a Reply

