Just Another Minute

My little world – just enjoying the ride

Another step…

Leave a comment

railroadToday starts basically where I left off yesterday. I wrote in blog yesterday that “It all came down to God needing to do some things in my life to get me back on track. To mold me some more.”

For God to do something more in my life, I need to focus. I need to stay in tune with Him. I need to listen to His prompts and act according to the way I am led. For me, that isn’t as easy as it to write. I tend to get distracted. I tend to jump from topic to topic.

I tend to get trapped in my worldly thoughts. I started a new job – I need to do x y and z. My yard needs to be brought back to life – because I want it to look nice. I need to lose weight in preparation for my Colorado trip and climbing a 14er. I need to organize my fishing trip. I need to figure out how to do… what to do… why I am doing… etc. Then you throw in the fact that my wife’s company just told them that they are closing her office and everyone is being laid off.

In addition, I tend to get trapped in my Christian thoughts. Man I need to write. I need to read this book. I need to find a good men’s group. I need the help of strong brothers. I need to pray more. I need to pray for my wife. All those thoughts as well as me asking God, “what can I do about my wife not believing in You?”

Distractions, distractions, distractions. Some are good. Some are bad.

So what am I doing about it? Well, I finally settled into a men’s group that meets consistently. It is a mix of young, middle and old guys. Good men – willing to listen and help.

What can I do better? Well I can start to write more. I can take some time to focus on Him more. For example, during my commute to and from work I can use that time to pray more. I can use the time I spend working on my yard to focus my thoughts on Him rather than listening to the ballgame. I can use my time on the bike to do the same. I can use my lunch break to read the bible, or my Tozer book.

Well, you get the picture. Then there is the thing I put on my personal to-do list not long ago. I put it as a daily reminder to pop up first thing in the morning – “make a difference in someone’s life today.” Not make a difference in the life of someone someday, or whenever, but every day. If I want God to radiate from me, I need to respond with actions in faith. I need to do more than sink into myself behind a closed door. I need to be an ear. A voice. A hand. A presents. It might be the same person every day. It might be someone different.

Today I have been led to focus on my cousin, Jack Hamm. I will reach out to him, and offer up prayers for him. I will continue to be an ear for him. I will continue to offer advice and support. He is my cousin, and most recently he is my brother.

So, Jack if you are reading this, know that I am praying for you. Know that we still need to have dinner sometime to chat about your life recently. I am here to listen to the pain, to the joy, and whatever else you need to unload.

Your Brother in Christ.

Author: just-another-minute

Just a guy getting through life, wondering what is going on in the world, but willing to share a few glimps of myself to you.

Leave a Reply

